FAQ | The Grishaverse

Frequently Asked Questions

The Grishaverse is the lavish fantasy world in which science and magic collide. Established in Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone Trilogy and further expanded in the Six of Crows Duology and the The Language of Thorns, the Grishaverse is home to your favorite characters from Ravka, Ketterdam, and more!

It is also an online space where both fans and those new to the Grishaverse can learn more about the books set in this world and discover tons of bonus content. Here you can find information about events and giveaways, learn more about characters and places in the books, and sign up for updates to be the first to learn about Grishaverse related news. Welcome!

The Grishaverse is made up of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising); the Six of Crows Duology (Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom); The Language of Thorns, a collection of fairytales and folklore that characters from both series would have grown up reading . . . and more to come.

Yes, Shadow and Bone is the first book in the The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (formerly known as the Grisha Trilogy). The order of books in this series is Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising.

Yes, Six of Crows is the first book in the Six of Crows Duology. The order of the books in this series is Six of Crows and then Crooked Kingdom.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy is set in Ravka and the Six of Crows Duology is set in Ketterdam, two countries within the Grishaverse. Six of Crows begins two years after the events of the final book in the Shadow and Bone trilogy. Some intrepid characters appear in both series.

Check out our “Where to Start” page for some help in deciding.

The Language of Thorns was published most recently and does not fit in the narrative timeline of the other stories. These are the fairy tales and folk stories Leigh’s characters would have heard growing up, so you can pick it up at any point in your Grishaverse journey.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Follow Alina Starkov through Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as she discovers her dormant powers and is swept up in a world of luxury and illusion. As Alina struggles to fit into her new life, a threat to the kingdom of Ravka grows—one that will test old alliances and challenge the very limits of magic, one that will take a frightened girl and forge her into a leader.

In the Six of Crows Duology, we return to the breathtaking world of the Grishaverse. Enter Ketterdam—a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered the chance at the heist of a lifetime, but first he’ll need the perfect crew.

Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price. Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, The Language of Thorns is an atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.
Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, the six tales in The Language of Thorns will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.

Read about the big idea that sparked it all.

Learn more about the books that gave historical inspiration for Ravka and the Shadow and Bone Trilogy:

  • Natasha’s Dance: A Cultural History of Russia by Orlando Figes
  • Land of the Firebird: The Beauty of Old
  • Russia by Suzanne Massie
  • Russian Folk Belief by Linda J. Ivanits


Learn more about the books that gave historical inspiration for Kerch and the Six of Crows Duology:

  • The Blackest Streets: The Life and Death of a Victorian Slum by Sarah Wise
  • The Coffee Trader by David Liss
  • Amsterdam: A History of the World’s Most Liberal City by Russell Shorto
  • Criminal Slang: The Vernacular of the Underworld Lingo by Vincent J. Monteleone
  • David Maurer’s The Big Con: The Story of the Confidence Man
  • Stealing Rembrandts: The Untold Stories of Notorious Art Heists by Anthony M. Amore and Tom Mashberg

The lush illustrations in The Language of Thorns were created by artist Sara Kipin. You can check out other work by her at sarakipin.com

There are three orders of Grisha. The three orders include:

Corporalki: The Order of the Living and the Dead
Corporalki are the highest-ranking Grisha and include Heartrenders, Healers, and Tailors.
A Heartrender can kill or maim without ever laying a finger on the victim.
Healers have the ability to heal wounds and injuries, which make them vital to the military effort.
Tailors have the ability to change their appearance and the appearance of others—sometimes permanently if the Tailor is talented enough.

Etherealki: The Order of Summoners
As Alina and the Darkling are summoners, they technically belong to this order. This order includes the Inferni, Squallers, and Tidemakers.
Inferni can summon combustible gases like methane or hydrogen from the surrounding atmosphere to create flame, but they still need a flint in order to create a spark.
Squallers have the ability to create storms of various size and strength by raising or lowering air pressure
Tidemakers have the ability to use temperature and pressure to summon and control water.

Materialki: The Order of Fabrikators
Materialki include Alkemi and Durasts, who became increasingly vital to the military due to the influence of Nikolai Lantsov.

Alkemi specialize in creating poisons and blasting powders.
Durasts are able to manipulate solid materials like steel, textiles and glass.

Maybe someday. I have a plan for the future of the Grishaverse, but I have other projects that I want to tackle first. -Leigh

Yes. They’re all part of the same story, even if they have different roles to play. -Leigh

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.